Ralph E. Powe Research Excellence Award

The highest honor for research at Mississippi State University, the Ralph E. Powe Research Excellence Award is reserved for outstanding, nationally recognized and competitive researchers. The recipient of the Ralph E. Powe Award is a mentor who is an influence on students towards scholarly work, graduate study, and professional activities; a scholar who has made a significant contribution in research to the economic welfare or cultural growth of the University, the State, or the Nation, and a leader in local, sectional, and national professional societies.

2020 Ralph E. Powe Award Winner

David May and Dr. Mark Keenum in front of the Mississippi State shield logo

David May

David C. May is a professor in the Department of Sociology at Mississippi State University.  David received his Ph.D. from the Department of Sociology at Mississippi State in 1997.  After working…

Read more about David May

Past Winners

2019 Steve Demarais
2018 Wes Schilling
2017 Henry Wan
2016 Wes Burger
2015 Brent Funderburk
2014 Nicholas Herrmann
2013 Daniel G. Peterson
2012 Kambham “Raja” Reddy
2011 James C. Newman Jr.
2010 Stanislaw Grzybowski
2009 Shane Burgess
2008 Mark Horstemeyer
2007 Louis D’Abramo
2006 Jung P. Shim
2005 Janice Chambers
2005 H. Michael Barnes
2004 Domenico Parisi
2003 Thomas E. Nebeker
2002 Douglas L. Marshall
2001 Roger L. King
2000 David R. Shaw
1999 Robert W. Rogers
1998 Charles U. Pittman Jr.
1997 Lewis R. Brown